Rock my Religion

Rediscovered this video from re-reading Dan Graham’s book, Rock My Religion, by way of Patti Smith’s great Just Kids.

I met him twice. I installed the Graham exhibition Interior Design for Space Showing Videotapes, at the Fruitmarket Gallery Edinburgh in 1986. Which was a pleasant and stimulating enough experience. It had Husker Dü, Sonic Youth (Death valley 69) and Andy Warhol on the Loveboat. Second time was at the CCA, Glasgow, 1996. We got wind of Graham visiting the Tramway so we asked if he would introduce a screening of Rock My Religion, which he did but he wasn’t happy. I think he felt hijacked into it, and the video projector was rubbish, but it was exciting to have him there. I tried to remind him that I had worked on the Fruitmarket exhibition but he appeared confused, rightly so.

 

Leave a Reply

